Russian Sketch Book

(At least, I think the book is in Russian. I took a semester of it but don’t remember much. Someone tell me if it’s another language.)


After buying a pad of sketch paper, I decided to make a little sketch book. Because she was over, I asked my brother’s girlfriend (who likes to draw) which of the books I had on hand would be good as a sketch book. She and I agreed on this one.

Russian Sketch Book (1)

It’s thin, as you can see, and not as tall as the other books I’ve used up until now. As such, I only did two signatures. Each has five pieces of sketching paper and one outside page from a new paper pad I bought. When folded in half, that’s 12 pages per signature.

Because the artsy pages were too big and needed to be cut down to size, I took a leftover strip from each one and used my DotLiner to glue them to the inside of each signature.

Once I stitched the signatures in, I tied in an “artist trading card” (said the label on the packet I bought). The back of the card is white, so the sketchbook owner can write whatever his heart fancies.

After I folded the Kraft-tex flaps down, I taped on pieces of ribbon.

Russian Sketch Book (9)

I’m a bit annoyed because, once again, the flaps were difficult to smooth out, so the journal pops open. I considered adding a button to the front and a string to the back so it could be tied closed, but I liked how the book looked plain. Plus, I’ve never done that before, so I’m scared to try it on a book that looks good.

Other than the issue with the Kraft-tex flaps, my only gripe with this book is that, despite measuring and trimming the pages down, they still stick out from the side of the cover a hair. But I can’t complain too much. It turned out well, all things considered.

Russian Sketch Book (11)

As a note, I’m thinking about selling this sketchbook. I want to wait until I get a few more books made, though, before listing it anywhere. If and when that happens, you’ll be the first to know.

Russian Sketch Book (10)

One thought on “Russian Sketch Book

Leave a Reply

