Two More Books to Good Homes

In a recent post, I mentioned that I was planning to give away the Russian sketchbook and possibly some of my other creations, should I become so inspired. And I did.

I know a couple of people who like to draw or do crafts. One is my brother’s girlfriend, to whom I gave the coffee-themed junk journal.

Another is a woman at church. She’s a sweet, loving lady who is always encouraging and supportive. We share a table, and she’s often sketching and I’m often writing as we listen to the preacher. Who better to give the little sketchbook to than a kind woman who’s a talented artist to boot?

Before church started, I handed her the book, and she was so pleased. It’s always great to see my creations go to people who truly appreciate them.

While picking up the sketchbook to take with me that morning, I saw one of my more recent altered books, which had portions of the original text included. The first half, which consists of cardstock, sketching paper, and other odds and ends, is nice. However, I’m less pleased with how the original text sections turned out. I’m not good at drawing, so my sketches over top of the words didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped. This craft was one of my least satisfying products, and I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it.

That morning, though, an idea hit me. I sing in our church’s worship band with a wonderful woman, and her daughter in some ways reminds me of myself as a teenager. One notable difference is that this girl loves the 1920s. Seeing as the book is set way back and that the pictures I glued in are of 19th-century antiques, I thought “Who better to take this quirky book than my friend’s daughter?”

At church, I gave the altered book to my friend, who took it home to her daughter. That night, I got a very sweet text from my friend telling me about her daughter’s reaction. She said it brought her to happy tears, that she loved the book and can’t believe I thought of her even though she wasn’t at church that day. I’m touched that she had such a strong reaction to her surprise gift. Another book to another good home.

I have a few more crafts remaining, and I’m still not sure what to do with them. I’ll update you if any of them become presents, too.

Leave a Reply

